Our Church



The history of Methodism in Williamsburg stretches over 245 years. It starts in 1772 with the Methodist Society founded by Robert Williams. The Methodist Society met at Bruton Parish Church for worship, communion, baptism, and funerals.  

Francis Asbury, the first bishop of the Methodist Church in America, made several visits to Williamsburg beginning in 1781. William McKendree was appointed in 1796 to be the first pastor to serve the Williamsburg Circuit, which extended from Old Point Comfort in Hampton to Hanover, near Richmond. 

In the early 1800s, the Methodists in Williamsburg began meeting in a small frame building on Francis Street near the historic colonial Capitol.  In 1842, a brick Methodist Episcopal Church was built across from the Court House of 1770. When this building became too small, a larger Methodist Church building was constructed in 1926 on the corner of Duke of Gloucester and North Boundary Street. In 1963, the congregation made a bold decision to move to its current location at 500 Jamestown Road. A new major addition was added to the building in 2006 to accommodate our over 2,000 members.

On July 21, 2013, the church celebrated a Jubilee Year with a special service to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the groundbreaking for the present church building. Activities continued throughout the next year, culminating in the fall of 2014  with a celebration commemorating the first worship service held in the new church.

Williamsburg United Methodist Church offers a wide range of ministries and services designed to share God’s love with our members and the community we serve that is so richly steeped in colonial history. Our mission is “to make disciples for Jesus Christ in historic Williamsburg and beyond by welcoming our neighbors, nurturing our faith, and transforming our world.”

We invite you to experience the love of God and become disciples of Jesus Christ with us.

Safe Sanctuaries is an overt expression in making congregations safe places where children, youth, and vulnerable adults may experience the abiding love of God and fellowship within the community of faith.

To view our policy, click here.


The earth is the Lord’s, and everything in it, the world, and all those who live in it. – Psalm 24:1

The Caring for God’s Creation Group was founded in 2007 in support of the Conference Green Initiative for United Methodist Churches. The Green Church Initiative is a program that empowers a local church to live out its faith, given the Biblical mandate to care for and be good stewards of all that God has so lovingly created. In order to carry out this mandate, the members of this congregation, being good stewards of God’s creation through conservation, preservation and responsible use of our many natural resources affirm the importance of healing and defending God’s creation to our mission as a local congregation.

Office Hours: Monday - Thursday from 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. and Fridays from 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Online Inquiries:  click here

Office Phone:  (757) 229-1771

Office Fax:  (757) 229-1223

Address:  Williamsburg United Methodist Church

500 Jamestown Road

Williamsburg, Virginia 23185

Let us know how we are doing!

If you have any comments, concerns, suggestions, etc., we would like to know.  

To submit your thoughts, please click here.